One of the Nemo albums

You might have been able to tell from reading my posts, but I am an avid Avett Brothers fan. Ever since I first saw them play in the summer of 2009, I have been hooked. I picked up the banjo and play along with the albums, I watch videos, I read articles and interviews, and I live for the shows. The brothers introduced me to a new genre of music and a humble, honest way of life rarely seen in musicians.

When reading, I learned about a band that Scott and Seth Avett were apart of when they were younger, Nemo. Nemo is an enigma. Their music is near impossible to be found or heard. After extreme searching it seems all I know is that they were a hard rock outfit. For those Avett listeners out there, this makes a lot of sense. The brothers are known for screaming and beating the hell out of their instruments.

I started to grow very frustrated. I wanted to hear the band behind my favorite band!

One day a couple of weeks ago I got a random friend request from a band on Facebook called Lions to Lambs. After looking around I learned that this is Kenny Graham’s band. The name Kenny Graham meant nothing to me until I did a little research. Graham was a member of Nemo! An opportunity fell into my lap.

As luck would have it Graham agreed to an interview, I then came across another member, John Twomey who agreed as well.

I then learned that Twomey was not only a member of Nemo, but also the original 3rd Avett Brother. He played shows with them before Bob Crawford (bassist) came along and even recorded an EP with them. Twomey also agreed to an interview.

In the next couple of weeks I will be releasing my dream post. A historical look at Nemo and the early Avett Brothers. I can’t wait to share it with all of you

