My father trying his hand on the piano

I am often asked where my intense love for music comes from. I never have to look to far to answer this question. I owe it all to my father, Steve Gorman. At an early age, I would ride in the car with him while he would sing along to most every song that played on the radio. He would sing it all, but what really seems to come to mind is “Hey Jude.” I recall him thrashing his voice with the Paul McCartney scream “JUDE-JUDE-JUDE-JUDAH-JUDAH-JUDAH-AAAAAHHHHH”.

The man has a strong voice. He used to sing in a quartette (B4God) featuring members of our church. He thought their name was pretty witty, I guess I can give him some credit. He was and always is looking for a place to perform. They sang such hits as “Love Potion Number 9” by The Clovers, “Naturally” by Huey Lewis and the News, and “And I Love Her” by the Beatles. They recorded an album that infringes on many copywrite laws (shh). They once sang “The Star Spangled Banner” at a Cincinnati Red’s Game, which is their greatest claim to fame.

I performed with him once at a variety show when I was in 7th grade, I played guitar while he sang “Brown Eyed Girl”. It was slightly edited for it was performed in a church (there would be no more making love in the green grass.)

The two of us don’t always see eye to eye musically, but we have introduced each other to musical phenoms. He passed on to me musicians who let me dwell in the past like Bruce Springsteen and the master of soul himself, Sam Cooke. The bands that he really clung to were The Avett Brothers, Wilco, The Punch Brothers, and Ben Sollee.

My dad has often tried playing instruments. He currently takes piano lessons and has once tried his hand at guitar. His voice is his instrument and is always encouraging my playing. He is actually pretty awesome at the harmonica.

I owe my dad  a thank you for the joy that music has brought me

